Dear Expectant Parent(s),Troy Susan

We can only imagine the path you are on and what has led you to read our profile…maybe you’re curious and are exploring the web for some options… or maybe you have a clearer vision about what you would like for your child. Either way we are both impressed and grateful for your inner strength to consider placing your child with an adoptive family such as ours.

We are Troy and Susan, we are in our 40’s and very healthy and physically active. We met each other in 2006 through mutual friends who believed we would be perfect for each other…they set us up on a blind date…and they were right! From the beginning (and with a little meddling) we became great friends, then fell in love and have been married for 5 years. Susan is of Vietnamese and English/Irish ancestry, and Troy’s family are from New Orleans, of French descendants. Our heritage is diverse and we love sharing the rich traditions our families together.

We do not have children yet, but enjoy the children in our lives, especially Susan’s nephews and Troy’s God-daughter. Interestingly enough, Susan explored adoption just prior to meeting Troy. She witnessed this awesome and beautiful act when 2 sweet little babies were placed with her cousin and his wife. Susan started exploring agencies but then met Troy. Troy also became curious about adoption after meeting Susan’s cousins. When we married we tried to conceive but had several miscarriages. However, we always felt that adoption may be part of our own family planning, and believe God is preparing us a wonderful child for our family.

Troy attended public elementary school, then private Catholic high school, and graduated from Loyola Marymount University. Susan attended public schools, and graduated from University of California at Berkeley. Troy is a real estate Broker and specializes in helping first-time home buyers. Susan has an established practice as financial advisor. Troy often works from home and Susan has a flexible work schedule and can work from home. We are blessed to have careers that provide us financial stability and balance to be with our family, and a wonderful network of extended family and child care providers available to allow us to provide childcare in our home, if we need it.

We have the same deep faith in salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, and we share the different expressions of our faiths together. Troy is Roman Catholic and his faith is rooted in family and tradition, in which Susan participates. Susan is an Evangelical Christian and is active in her church ministries such as teaching 4th-5th grade Sunday School class and church leadership. Susan and Troy serve at the homeless shelter in the winter and also belong to a small group, both through her church.

In our free time we both love being outdoors. In the summer we go camping or backpacking and in the winter we ski and snowshoe. At home, we enjoy working on home-improvement projects or trying out new recipes. Susan also likes to hike and jog and Troy likes to golf and fish. And we catch our share of sports…baseball, football and basketball mostly. At more relaxing times we both like to read or go to movies.

We live in a quaint neighborhood that we have dubbed “the Shire” with about a dozen homes on our street. Our neighbors are friendly and there are children in the neighborhood, especially toddlers. We live close to our churches, our family and many of our closest friends are within a mile of us.

Thank you so much for taking the time to learn a little about us. We pray that God’s unconditional love and peace guide you in each step of the journey ahead of you.

Sincerely,

Troy & Susan

Adoptive Family at a Glance

Father’s Name: Troy Mother’s Name: Susan
Occupation: Real Estate Broker Occupation: Financial Advisor
Education: BS, Political Science, Loyola Marymount University Education: BA, History, UC Berkeley
Religion: Catholic Religion: Evangelical Christian
Age: 40’s Age: 40’s
Ethnicity: Caucasian Ethnicity: Asian/Caucasian
Hair Color: Brown Hair Color: Brown
Eye Color: Brown Eye Color: Brown
Height: 5’9” Height: 5’7”
General Health: Excellent General Health: Excellent

Date of marriage: 2008

Children: None yet!

Interest and Hobbies: Besides spending time with our families, we enjoy most outdoor sports and activities and we typically head towards the mountains to camp, backpack, hike and fish in the summer months and ski in the winter months. We are avid cooks, readers and movie goers too. Both of us like to work on home improvement projects, and we volunteer time each winter at a local homeless service shelter and Susan teaches a Sunday School class at her church.

Home: We live in a quaint neighborhood with about a dozen homes on our street. There is little traffic and is very safe…kids ride bikes, skate and scooter around. There are children in the neighborhood, especially toddlers. We live close to our churches, our family and many of our closest friends are within a mile of us.

Pets: We love pets! But after our cat and dog passed away we wanted to focus our time on travel and spending time with our growing family. We plan to have pets again that are compatible with children.

Finances: We are blessed that our careers provide us financial stability as well as flexible work options for family and life balance. We feel very prepared to provide a financially stable home but more importantly that our lifestyle is focused toward providing a nurturing and supportive environment for our family.

Why are you interested in building a family though adoption: Since we met in our late 30’s, we always knew that it might be possible that adoption could become part of our efforts to build a family. Like many others, we have experienced various infertility issues and look forward to providing a loving family for an adoptive child.

Openness to Birth parents: We are open to arranging a future relationship that makes everyone comfortable including periodic updates and pictures. Additionally, if a birth mother prefers a closed adoption we will not be opposed to that either.

Childcare Plans: Troy works mostly from home working in real estate and managing our investment property. Susan works a traditional daytime job in an office environment and can also work from home. During the week we usually have breakfast and dinner together at home. Both of our parents and close families are also nearby and we have a great support network for childcare in cases of need. Susan plans to take some time off work after placement and when we need it, we do plan to have child care arrangements in our home.

We are represented by Nightlight Christian Adoptions. If you need more information about us, or would like to meet us, please contact Nightlight toll-free at 888.933.2237.