Dear Birth Parents,Sheldon_Rebecca_and_Mike_Photos_of_Family

Hello, our names are Mike and Rebecca Sheldon. Thank you for taking this time to learn more about our family. We were married in 2005 after each of us graduated from college. We were blessed with the opportunity to adopt our first son, Theodore, at the beginning of 2012 and desire to grow our family, but for medical reasons we are unable to do so. We are excited about the opportunity to share our love and our lives with another child through adoption, and we hope that you’ll consider entrusting us with the baby you are now carrying. We’d like to give you a little glimpse into our lives.

Mike, the oldest of three brothers, moved into the area when we were in junior high, and what started as an academic rivalry between us became a friendship and then much more. I was attracted to Mike by his sincerity, leadership, and work ethic as well as his patient and caring spirit. Mike graduated college with a degree in Computer Science. In the 10+ years since graduating, Mike has worked for the same software company designing and developing computer programs, and he loves what he does. Despite his busy schedule, Mike makes being a husband and father his first priority. He contributes willingly to tasks like cooking and cleaning and enjoys spending time playing with Theo and teaching him new things. Being a dad has definitely become his new favorite pastime.

Rebecca, the oldest of six siblings, has been my best friend since high school, and I am blessed to have her as my wife. She is thoughtful, caring, creative, and the love of my life. Her attention to detail lends itself well to her many hobbies such as sewing, scrapbooking, and gardening. I love the fact that things around the house are always returned to their places because of Rebecca’s organizational skills. She’s definitely made our house a home. Rebecca has a degree in Elementary Education and taught sewing and then 5th grade before setting aside work to be a full time mom. Her dream has always been to share her love as a mother. That love and attention is evident every day as she cares for Theo, and I’m confident that she will pour the same into the next little one to join our family.

Theo, born January 2012, is an energetic and engaging little guy. He loves running around the playground, playing ball, and wrestling. He’ll also spend hours playing with his trucks and trains. He loves spending time with his grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousin who almost all live nearby. We all regularly spend time playing games, working around the yard, and even going on vacation together. Theo’s cute laugh and expressions are infectious and bring a smile to both family and strangers when we’re out and about. He interacts well with adults and children of all ages and will make a great big brother!

Both of us love learning and desire to pass that love on. We’ve already enjoyed engaging Theo with his books, colors, numbers, and letters. At various times we’ve also worked with the youth at church and as athletic coaches. We both love sports. Mike’s favorite is basketball, and Rebecca’s is volleyball. We’ll often spend Sunday afternoon watching football together and we also enjoy skiing, biking, hiking, and just taking walks in the nearby park.

We hope that through the pictures in this book, you’ll get a better sense of who we are. We don’t know you yet, but we’ve been praying for you and your baby. We know that God has a perfect plan for both of you and we would be honored if you believe we are to be a part of that plan through adoption. We pray that God will give you grace, wisdom, and comfort as you seek the best for your baby.

Sincerely,

Mike & Rebecca

Adoptive Family at a Glance

Father’s Name: Mike Mother’s Name: Rebecca
Occupation: Computer Developer Occupation: Homemaker/Substitute Teacher
Education: BS Computer Science, Drexel University Education: BS Elementary Education, Bob Jones University
Religion: Christian Religion: Christian
Date of Birth: 04/05/1983 Date of Birth: 10/15/1982
Ethnicity: Caucasian Ethnicity: Caucasian
Hair Color: Brown Hair Color: Brown
Eye Color: Brown Eye Color: Hazel
Height: 6’2” Thin/Average Build Height: 5’2” Average Build
General Health: Excellent Health General Health: Excellent Health

Date of marriage: 6/11/2005

Children: 1 son, Theo

Interest and Hobbies: Mike: Computers & Technology, competitive sports (especially basketball & soccer), Skiing, Bicylcing, Reading Rebecca: Sewing, Scrapbooking, Gardening, Reading, Music, Skiing, Volleyball
Home: Single family home with a nice yard and a small stream running through property.

Pets: 2 very personable cats

Finances: We are very financially stable and secure. Mike is well paid as a software architect.

Why are you interested in building a family though adoption: We have been diagnosed with infertility and cannot have children of our own, but we still feel that God has children for us to care for. We also reflect on the fact that God has adopted us through his gift of salvation and want to offer a picture of that love to children who need a loving family.

Openness to Birth parents: We are open to developing a relationship with the birth parent(s) that is suitable for all concerned. We are open to sending pictures, letters and updates.

Childcare Plans: Rebecca will stay at home as a full time mother

We are represented by Nightlight Christian Adoptions. If you need more information about us, or would like to meet us, please contact Nightlight toll-free at 888.933.2237.