Dear Birth Family,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to read our letter. Our names are Michael and Lea. We met in April of 2004. Our first date was the exact opposite of what you’d think a first date should be. Lea told Michael she was Catholic and went to Mass every Sunday and that she wanted to get married and have a huge family. She also told him that would likely have to happen through adoption. He told her he felt the same way and we laughed about how backwards our date was. Since then there has only been one day that we haven’t talked to each other. We lived five hours away from each other for the next year and spent that time talking and becoming best friends. We were married September 30, 2006 and our miracle baby, Grant was born January 12, 2011.

Michael is a big kid at heart. His favorite thing to do is to hang out at our family’s lake house. We spend most of our summer there with our extended family, relaxing, water skiing, and tubing. He is also into cars and building things for Lea’s ever growing honey-do-list; Grant is his little assistant. He’s always there to hand daddy his tools when he needs them. Michael is the Director of Quality for a manufacturing company. A few times per year, he travels to beautiful places for work and Lea and Grant tag along. Michael’s weekends are spent being a human jungle gym for Grant. They have so much fun laughing and playing all weekend long.

Lea loves to cook and garden. In the summer you can usually find her outside playing in the dirt, planting flowers or vegetables. Michael built her a self-watering garden bed, so she doesn’t have to worry about her plants during our long trips. Grant loves to play in the dirt too; he’s a big helper. We are lucky to live in an area with a ton of museums, gardens, and gorgeous parks with great bike paths connecting them. Lea and Grant spend a lot of time exploring our area. Her favorite thing to do is to teach little ones to cook & bake and our dog Gizmo loves cleaning up their messes! Grant is already a little pro with a rolling pin. Lea has her dream job as a stay-at-home mom.

esp-48Grant is a very smart, sweet and silly little guy. He just turned three and is already starting to read. Thomas the Train is his favorite toy right now. We love building elaborate tracks for his trains. He sets his barn, car racetrack, and airport within the train tracks and plays for hours. His imagination is amazing! Grant is a social butterfly. He loves his friends and cousins very much. He’s gentle and loves to help with his baby cousins. His adores his older cousins; he wants to play piano and violin like they do. He will make an excellent big brother. We pray that someday he’ll have a brother or sister to be his best friend for life.

We love to travel! We want to see the world as a family. In 2011 we spent two weeks in France. Lea’s mom went with us and we had a blast. Grant loved swimming in the Mediterranean Sea. We were able to explore and experience many different areas of the country. In 2012, we went to France and Italy for two weeks. We took Lea’s aunt and uncle with us. It was an amazing trip. We were able to spend time with Michael’s family in Rome. Grant came home saying quite a few words in French and Italian. In 2015, we’re planning a trip with Michael’s entire family to Italy to visit his family there. Michael is currently learning Italian, while Lea and Grant are learning French. Grant attends a French play class twice a week. If you ask him to speak French he usually won’t, but when he plays, he makes his cars and toys speak French. It’s adorable! Grant and Lea will also start learning Italian next year and Spanish when Grant starts Kindergarten.

Thank you again for taking the time to read our letter. We want you to know that we believe it is very important for children to know where they came from and are very excited about open adoption. We hope this helped you get to know us a little better.

God Bless,

Michael, Lea & Grant
#355974

Adoptive Family at a Glance

Father’s Name: Michael Mother’s Name: Lea
Occupation: Director of Quality Manufacturing Occupation: Stay at home mom
Education: B.S. Mechanical Engineering, M.B.A Strategic Management Education: 128 University Credits Child Development/Special Education
Religion: Catholic Religion: Catholic
Age: Late 30’s Age: Mid 30’s
Ethnicity: Caucasian Ethnicity: Caucasian
Hair Color: Brown Hair Color: Brown
Eye Color: Brown Eye Color: Brown
Height: 5’10” Height: 5’4
General Health: Excellent General Health: Excellent

Date of marriage: September 30, 2006

Children: 1 Biological Child, Grant (3)

Interest and Hobbies: Traveling, playing at our family’s lake house, exploring the history of our city, baseball games, family sporting events, gardening, building furniture, lots of reading…the list could go on and on. We are a very active family! We love picnics and have them as often as possible. We have a special picnic spot by a river where we watch planes, helicopters and boats of all sizes for hours. Grant loves all types of transportation, so it’s the perfect spot for us. It’s cheesy, but one our favorite things to do in the winter is snuggle on the couch and watch Hallmark Christmas movies.

Home: We live in a town home with three bedrooms and three and a half baths. We have a large yard, surrounded by trees, with a swing set, sand toys and kids basketball hoop. We also have a playground and pool in our neighborhood. Our neighborhood is beautiful and full of families. At times there will be fifteen kids running around playing, while the parents chat and supervise. We are close to multiple parks, museums, historical sites and the library. We can walk or bike almost anywhere.

Pets: Our dog, Gizmo is eight years old, but still a puppy at heart. He looks like one too! He’s snuggly and fuzzy. He sleeps outside of Grant’s door whenever Grant is sleeping.

Finances: Michael has a very stable job he loves as Director of Quality for a manufacturing company. We are thankful that Lea is able to stay home. We are financially stable and are saving for retirement and college.

Why are you interested in building a family though adoption: Grant is an absolute miracle. We also have a daughter, Maryanna Kathryn. She was born too early and only lived for two precious hours. She was also a miracle and we thank God everyday for the time we were able to spend with her. We have lost many children to early miscarriages. Having biological children is very dangerous for Lea and any child she may carry. Her body just doesn’t handle pregnancy well. We’ve always wanted a large family and knew before we were married that we would adopt to make that happen.

Openness to Birth parents: The selfless love birth parents have for their child is amazing to us. We are honored that you would consider letting your child join our family. We pray we can have an open relationship, but understand if you have different plans. Either way, please know you will always be held in the highest honor in our family and your child will know how much you love them.

Childcare Plans: Lea plans to continue to stay home and care for the baby.

We are represented by Nightlight Christian Adoptions. If you need more information about us, or would like to meet us, please contact Nightlight toll-free at 866-832-3678.