Dear Expectant Parent(s),Zinser Famiy - 138jpg

We hope this letter, and the information that accompanies it, gives you a good sense of whom we are and why we want to adopt. We understand that you are facing an extremely difficult decision, and we cannot even begin to know what you must be feeling. We can only state that we support you in whatever decision you make, and we hope that having enough information about your choices will help you make the right decision for your child.

Let us start with our reasons for wanting to adopt. Rebekah has an adopted sister, and adoption was something that we had always talked about, maybe for a third child. We tried for almost two years to have a second child. Rebekah got pregnant after one year, but miscarried and was not able to get pregnant again. We tried basic fertility treatments, but they were unsuccessful. We decided that we did not want to attempt IVF, because we felt that God was leading us in another direction—to turn our discussions of adoption into reality.

Our family currently consists of Logan, Rebekah, and our daughter Emma. Logan grew up in San Diego and Rebekah is from Montana. We met our freshman year in college, at UC Santa Cruz. We have been together for more than 15 years. We were married in 2006, in La Jolla. After getting married we got two Labrador retrievers, Salchi and Bella. In January of 2009, Becky gave birth to a baby girl, Emma Jane, and six months later we moved to San Diego.

Logan got his B.A. in Economics from UC Santa Cruz. Logan has his CPA and now works in finance for a global biotechnology company. He loves his job, and sees a lot of space for upward mobility in the future. Rebekah got her Master’s degree in Anthropology from Arizona State University. She currently teaches anthropology at an online university. She works no more than 12-15 hours per week, all on her own time, so she is able to put aside her work for the most part when Emma is home. Once we adopt a second child, Rebekah will take a leave of absence from work to be home with the baby, and then will go back to work, still part-time, and hire a nanny if needed.

We love living in San Diego, and we are lucky to be in a great neighborhood, with great schools and access to the beach. We live close to Logan’s family, and we spend a lot of time with them. Logan’s dad and his wife are always willing to babysit at a moment’s notice. But we try to make it up to Montana at least once per year to visit Rebekah’s family, and her parents come down to visit a lot.

Our family is very active physically; Logan surfs a few times per week, Rebekah does yoga, runs, and goes to the gym, and Emma dances and swims. For fun, we love to go to the beach near our house, hike, go out for breakfasts, and hang out with family and friends.

Right after we moved to San Diego Rebekah and Emma joined a playgroup. We still meet once a week to make crafts, go on outings, or celebrate birthdays and holidays. Most of the close friends we have made are having subsequent children, so there will be instant friends for our adopted child. Our friends and family are all very supportive of our adoption plans, and the usual response we get from almost everyone is “that’s so exciting!”

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this letter and look through our profile. If you should choose adoption for your child, please consider us. We want you to know that we would love this child not a single ounce less than we love our daughter.

Sincerely,

Logan & Rebekah
#352056

Adoptive Family at a Glance

Father’s Name: Logan Mother’s Name: Rebekah
Occupation: Accountant Occupation: Archaeologist/Professor
Education: B.A. in Accounting Education: M.A. in Anthropology
Religion: Catholic Religion: Christian
Date of Birth: 02/16/1980 Date of Birth: 02/16/1980
Ethnicity: Caucasian Ethnicity: Caucasian
Hair Color: Brown Hair Color: Brown
Eye Color: Blue Eye Color: Hazel
Height: 6’4″ Height: 5’9″
General Health: Very good General Health: Very good

Date of marriage: June 3, 2006

Children: Emma, born January 14, 2009. Biological child. She is very outgoing, imaginative, and strong-willed. She is also extremely loving, generous, and happy.

Interests and Hobbies: Family activities include going to the beach, hiking, visiting family, riding bikes, and going out to eat. Logan likes to surf, exercise, and take the dogs to the beach. Becky likes to garden, sew, do yoga, exercise, and scrapbook. Emma loves to dance, swim, do crafts, go to the park, and play with her dolls, Barbies, Legos, or My Little Ponies.

Home: We live in a modern-style home in an eclectic neighborhood. We are about a mile from the beach, and across the street is a lagoon. Our house is about 2,500 square feet, with three bedrooms, a playroom/office, and three full bathrooms. We have a small backyard, but it is very child-friendly, with artificial grass, a sandbox, chalkboard, baby slide, and fountain. Our neighborhood is very friendly, and we are part of a neighborhood watch program. We have the kind of neighbors from whom we can borrow a cup of sugar or will babysit our children.

Pets: We have two female Labrador Retrievers, and they are our first babies. Salchi is a yellow lab and she was born in April of 2006, and Bella is a black lab that was born in March of 2007. They are very loving, friendly, and cuddly. Bella lets Emma climb all over her, and is very protective of her.

Finances: We own our house and do not carry a mortgage, and we have already made a very good start on our retirement fund and college funds for our children. We have very little debt, and we both have good jobs. We are able to live very comfortably, but we don’t spend excessively either.

Why are you interested in building a family though adoption: Rebekah has an adopted sister, so adoption was always in our minds. When we were unable to get pregnant a second time, it was natural for us to turn to adoption, instead of spending the same money on fertility treatments.

Openness to Birth parents: It is difficult for us to decide this without knowing the birthparents. We want to create a comfortable relationship between the birthparents and ourselves. What that means may differ depending on the situation. Ultimately, we believe in ensuring the child understands where he/she came from, and who his/her birth parents are. Whether this is maintained through occasional pictures and letters, or phone calls or visits, this is something we feel we cannot determine until we have met the birth parents.

Childcare Plans: Rebekah currently works part-time from home so she is able to spend a lot of time with Emma. Once we adopt, she will take a leave-of-absence from work for the first 3-6 months. After that time, she will return to working part-time from home. If childcare is needed at this time, we will hire a part-time nanny to care for the baby while Emma is in school.

We are represented by Nightlight Christian Adoptions. If you need more information about us, or would like to meet us, please contact Nightlight toll-free at 866-832-3678.