Gimby

A Letter to You,

We are Grant and Rebekah Gimby, and we cannot express just how happy we are that you are taking the time to get to know us, and we hope you see all the love we have for the child growing inside of you.

Life is an adventure with many twists and turns; some expected and some unexpected. We decided many months ago to grow our family, but it seems that conceiving a child is not in God’s plan for us right now. Just as you are faced with something unexpected in your life, so are we. We can’t imagine the difficult decision that you are faced with but know that God has a plan for you and this child.

Rebekah and I have known each other since the seventh grade. Our adventures together have taken us many places; from friendship, to love, to marriage, and now to the baby carriage. We enjoy making time for experiencing the zest of life, and we often do so outdoors on hikes, bike rides, camping trips with friends, and weekend getaways at our timeshare locations. We live very fulfilling lives, but it seems that we are missing one piece to our puzzle to make it all complete – a baby. We are excited and are looking forward to bringing a child with us on our adventures and sharing in life’s memories. We want to show them this beautiful world that God has created for us.

During the week, I work as a biomedical engineer for a cancer research company. I have been with the company for almost five years now, and after several promotions, I am looking forward to advancing into leadership in the healthcare industry. I have a passion for making peoples’ lives better, and I thank God every day for a very fulfilling 10-year career in healthcare. On the weekends, Rebekah and I are very actively involved in our church community. I play guitar in the worship band on Sunday nights, and I also volunteer part time as a project manager for young adult ministry development. She volunteers in the children’s ministry during Vacation Bible School and during Midweek Services.

Rebekah is a preschool teacher at the private Christian school attached to our home church. She has been working there for just about four years now and absolutely loves it. She has a passion for early childhood education and preparing children for the future. In her spare time she enjoys playing the ukulele, practicing guitar, painting, and drawing. While Rebekah loves her job, it has been her dream to be a mother. A child will always come first, which is why Rebekah plans to cut her hours from 30+ hours down to 8 hours a week, while the rest of the time staying at home with the baby. During those 8 hours, close friends and family will stay with the baby.

We live in a quiet neighborhood in Southern California where we are just minutes away from beautiful beaches, great hiking trails, extended family, and our church home. We purchased our two bedroom condominium just over a year ago where we are just a few houses down from a quaint little park and our community pool. We love to take walks around the neighborhood or along the bike trail that runs along the creek across the street from us.

Our friends and family are very supportive of our decision. Choosing adoption has opened up many conversations with our friends, family, and co-workers about their own positive experiences with adoption. We have enjoyed hearing others’ stories and are eagerly anticipating being able to share our story with them. We are thankful that you are considering creating an adoption plan and what a blessing that could be. While we may be on a different path than you, our adventures have led our paths to cross today. Both of our circumstances have been unexpected, but God has a purpose and a plan for each of us. We wish you the best in your decision making process and we know that God will bless you in whichever choice you make.

Grant and Rebekah

#357984

Adoptive Family at a Glance

Father’s Name: Grant Mother’s Name: Rebekah
Occupation: Biomedical Engineer Occupation: Preschool Teacher
Education: BS in Business Management/Electrical Engineering Education: AA Early Childhood Education
Religion: Christian Religion: Christian
Date of Birth: August 8, 1988 Date of Birth: February 3, 1987
Ethnicity: Caucasian Ethnicity: Caucasian
Hair Color: Brown Hair Color: Brown
Eye Color: Brown Eye Color: Green
Height: 6’4” Height: 5’4”
General Health: Good General Health: Good

Date of marriage: November 20, 2010

Children: This will be our first child.

Interests and hobbies:  We both enjoy outdoors activities like hiking, going on walks, going to the beach. We both enjoy music and playing our instruments. Grant has his guitars and Rebekah with the ukulele. Rebekah enjoys drawing, painting and being creative.

Home: We have a nice two bedroom townhouse-style condominium with a nice little patio. We live in a pretty quiet neighborhood. Our home is located just a short minute walk away from a playground, large grass area and the community pool. We are also just a short 5 minute walk away from our home church.

Pets: We have a rabbit named Patches and a  cat named Oscar. They are both very sweet and loving pets.

Finances:  We are very financially stable. Grant has a well paying job and Rebekah brings in extra income. We make sure to automatically deduct money from our checking account into a savings account each month.

Why are you interested in building your family through adoption? We decided to adopt because it is something we have always felt would be a part of our lives. We have seen the evidence God has provided to us showing that this is the right time in our lives to start this adventure. We are excited and eager to start our family.

Openness to birthparent(s):  We are interested in developing a relationship with the birth parent(s) that is appropriate for all parties including the child, birth parents, and us. We ultimately want what is best for the child. We are definitely open to sending letters, pictures, and any updates on the child to the degree that the birth parent(s) is comfortable with.

Childcare plans:  Grant will continue to work at his full time job. Rebekah will cut her hours down to 8 hours a week while a close friend or a family member watches for the four hours per day. With Rebekah being a teacher, she gets all of summer off plus many days and weeks throughout the year for various holidays. If working is not what is best for the child than Rebekah will leave her job all together and become a full time stay at home mom.

We are represented by Nightlight Christian Adoptions. If you need more information about us, or would like to meet us, please contact Nightlight toll-free at 866-832-3678.