Dear Birthparent,Colon photo

Thank you for taking the time to read our letter and giving us the opportunity to share with you a little bit about ourselves. We hope that this letter gives you a picture of our lives and what we have to offer a child.

We can’t imagine how difficult this must be for you, but we admire your courage. We believe that adoption is an act of love for all involved, with the child’s best interest at heart, including their safety, security and happiness for the future.

We are Juan and Olivia. We met about four years ago on eHarmony which is an online dating website. We both joined eHarmony with the intent of looking for a long term relationship. We dated for about a year and half before we got married. We both knew early on in our relationship that we would get married because we are best friends and couldn’t have imagined life any other way. Juan fell in love with Olivia’s kindness for others and fun loving personality. Olivia fell in love with Juan’s quirky sense of humor and thought fullness for others. In December 2009, we got married at Saint Joseph Catholic Church in the city of Placentia.

We always knew we wanted to have our own biological children, however had also discussed adopting children when we were dating. We believe there are many children in need of a loving and supporting family, which we believe we can provide. A year an half ago, Olivia was diagnosed with Premature Ovarian Failure, which means that her ovaries no longer produce eggs. We had the option of in-vitro fertilization with a donor egg; however Olivia did not want to go through the hormone therapy that comes with the process. We knew that this process may be a roller coaster of emotions which we did not want to endure. We believe that God does things for a reason and believe that adoption is our destiny as a married couple.

Our families are the most important part of our lives. We both come from close knit families with strong morals and values.

Juan’s parents are from Mexico. He grew up in Northern California and has four brothers and two sisters. After high school, he attended California State University, San Jose. In 2005, Juan moved to Southern California to start his career as a police officer for a local police department. All of Juan’s family still lives in Northern California with the exception of one of his youngest brothers. We try to visit his family a few times during the year especially during holidays.

Olivia was born in Southern California and her parents are from Nicaragua. She has two older sisters who are married and have kids of their own. She graduated from California State University, Fullerton and is currently working in a civilian position for a local police department. All of Olivia’s family lives just a short drive away. She has several cousins who have younger children that we hope someday will play with our children and attend their birthday parties. We have one nephew and four nieces who range in age from six years old to fifteen years old.

We share a strong sense of family values and traditions that have been passed down to us from our parents and grandparents, which we look forward to continuing to pass down to our children. One of those traditions is to teach our children to speak Spanish. We feel that it is important for our children to speak Spanish to their grandparents and older adult relatives that primarily speak Spanish. In addition, we feel that this will benefit our children later in life.

Thank you again for your time in getting to know us and hope that in reading about us, it will somehow help make your decision easier. We hope that you find peace about considering us to be the adoptive parents of your newborn. There is no greater gift to us than to share our lives, our love and our home with a precious child.

Juan & Olivia

Adoptive Family at a Glance

Father’s Name: Juan Mother’s Name: Olivia
Occupation: Police Officer Occupation: Community Service Specialist
Education: Some College Education: Bachelors of Science
Religion: Christian Religion: Catholic
Date of Birth: 02-1978 Date of Birth: 01-1978
Ethnicity: Hispanic Ethnicity: Hispanic
Hair Color: Brown Hair Color: Brown
Eye Color: Brown Eye Color: Brown
Height: 6’0/245 lbs Height: 5’6/145 lbs
General Health: Good General Health: Good

Date of marriage: December 5, 2009

Children: None

Interest and Hobbies: We enjoy an active lifestyle, and fitness is always been an important part of our lives. Running and hiking are some of the things we enjoy doing together. We also love to travel to new places.

Home: We currently live in a two-bedroom apartment in Orange County. The apartment complex is quiet and clean with plenty of parks, schools and shops nearby. There are several families with children living in the apartment complex. We plan to buy a home in the near future and anticipate living in a city where they have an excellent school district for the benefit of our future children.

Pets: None

Finances: We are financially stable and have been fortunate to save money for the future.

Why are you interested in building a family though adoption: We believe every child deserves a loving and supporting family, which we believe we can provide. We believe GOD does things for a reason and believe he gave us the gift to able to adopt to have the opportunity to have our own little family.

Openness to Birth parents: We would be thankful if you would allow us to meet you. We would like to be able to send e-mails and pictures to assure you that your baby is loved and cared for with all our hearts.

Childcare Plans: Olivia plans to take the first three months off to be with the baby. We then plan to have Olivia’s stepmother care for the baby when we are working, which would consist of only four day out of the week.

Statement of Faith: Juan was raised in a Christian upbringing, where Olivia was raised in a Catholic upbringing. Being Catholic has been an important part of Olivia’s life that has created unforgettable memories, which we would hope to make and share with our children.

We are represented by Nightlight Christian Adoptions. If you need more information about us, or would like to meet us, please contact Nightlight toll-free at 888.933.2237.